Arrival Day

March 7, 2007 at 12:54 pm | Posted in Day 1: Wednesday, 7 March 2007, Laura | 3 Comments

Well guys here I am. almost 40 hours after I started my travels I have arrived in Boksburg. As of this posting I have even gotten a full 6 hours of sleep, a shower, and I’ve brushed my teeth! Needless to say all is well. It’s about 1pm here and we are just getting ready for lunch. From the looks of breakfast the last thing I have to worry about here is going hungry. It is unbelievable. The food, the ethnicity of the people I am eating with, and the gathering of people from around the world who all share in the same mission. I am humbled and I am honored. I cannot wait to get things started. Today we are heading to a local church to celebrate communion with The Most Reverend Njongonkulu Winston Hugh Ndungane (the Archbishop of Cape Town), The Most Reverend and Right Honourable Dr. Rowan Williams (Archbishop of Canterbury), The Right Reverend David Beetge (Diocese of Highveld), and The Reverend Canon Nangula Kathindi (Anglican Church of Southern Africa). I know those names don’t mean a lot to many people but I’m feeling assured that this Eucharist will be breathtaking as well as be the beginning of my life changed.

I’ll be sure to start taking pictures to keep with my posts. The scenery here is second to none.  The air is fresh, the ground is lit up with all sorts of colors, and the sun is shining for the first time in months on my bare arms. Praise be to God!!!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I really cannot tell you how delighted I am that you have this blog going. I will try to keep up, but know that there are many of us back here in cold MN who love you very much, and are praying for you and all those around you. Have a wonderful day dear one.

  2. Wow ,Laura what a trip. I am going to take your blog to the dinner at church tonight and share it. Glad you are getting some sleep. Greet Thom and the others for me. Love and prayers, Terry

  3. Thank you Terry and Rachel. Thank you also Terry for sharing the blog with our parish. I think the Diocesan news is going to post a link to it as well. Rachel, I will be sure to pray for you and the weather warming up as well!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

